'Star Rank Boxing V2'
Author:hyper active (registered user: 296 posts )
Date: Wed, Jun 15th, 2011 @ 01:53 ( . )

I'm no expert, but they probably ran into too many problems with some 1541 or 1571 drives that just weren't compatible enough to pass the protection, the way accolade did on some of their games.
Another reason for it's rare use is the price that Harald might have charged for it.

REPLY: [With No Quote] --- [With Quoted Text]

'Star Rank Boxing V2'
Author:Lord Crass (guest: search)
Date: Wed, Jun 15th, 2011 @ 23:16 ( . )

The drive code that is uploaded can be anything the programmer wants it to be and is easily changed if a particular routine was unreliable. I was referring more to the C64 code, which is amazingly well protected.

There p-code is decrypted as it is called. The VM itself (along with the p-code again) is encrypted. The routine that decrypts the VM is encrypted as well, using the entire (encrypted) VM as the decryption key. Once the drive-side protection passes, the drive code loads in 2 encrypted sectors from track 18 which decrypts to one sector of code. That code then loads and decrypts 3 other encrypted sectors on track 18 which becomes the drive code of the V-Max loader that is used to load the main game.