'Printing C-64 Programs'
Author:Kevin (guest: search)
Date: Wed, Jun 02nd, 2010 @ 14:26 ( . )

I wasn't sure where to post this, but thought I'd try this board...

Is there any way to print (or preferably create PDFs) of the Commodore 64 BASIC program listings? I know it's an odd request, but I have lots of printouts from way back and rather than scanning them, I'd prefer a pristine file copy that preserves the special C-64 characters.

I guess the first problem would be getting them from the disk image and fed into something to create the PDF. I'm not a programmer, so I wouldn't know where to even begin.

I use both Mac and PC, so either platform would be fine if such a thing exists.

Thanks.

REPLY: [With No Quote] --- [With Quoted Text]

'Printing C-64 Programs'
Author:Pete Rittwage (registered user: 558 posts )
Date: Wed, Jun 02nd, 2010 @ 16:39 ( . )

Hi Kevin,

I've forwarded your questions to my friends at GB64. I know that they do type-ins and I think someone has a method of OCR and cut/paste that works. I'll let you know what they say.

Pete

'Printing C-64 Programs'
Date: Thu, Jun 03rd, 2010 @ 04:23 ( . )

On 06/02/2010 @ 16:39, Pete Rittwage wrote :
Hi Kevin,
:
: I've forwarded your questions to my friends at GB64. I know that they do type-ins and I think someone has a method of OCR and cut/paste that works. I'll let you know what they say.
:
: Pete
:
--

Thanks, Pete.

In case you need more info, here's what I'm trying to do:

Many (some?) commercial programs were written in BASIC -- Sword of Fargoal and Telengard come to mind. I of course have the images to these programs and can 'list' the programs.

I would like to be able to extract the BASIC program files from the disk images and dump them into a PDF file while preserving the original PETSCII graphics (some of which indicate screen functions or characters that have been redefined in the program).